Posted by: effingwishes | April 8, 2010

Be Careful What You Wish For.

I hate the phrase “Be careful what you wish for.” It ranks right up there with “Everything happens for a reason,” to which I typically want to respond with a good ole “Screw You.” But that’s a different matter altogether. “Be careful what you wish for” is a strange and mean combo rolled into one. As children, we are taught to wish on stars. There are books and cartoons and catchy little tunes about wishes.  As soon as we reach adulthood – and our wishes become more expensive and intricate – we are told to make wishes with extreme caution.  Luckily, as adults we rarely listen to reason, so we continue to make those wishes and act on them.  Regret sets in later.

What wishes did you make today? I wished I wouldn’t be caught by a train. I wished for a good parking spot. I wished for a piece of cake with lunch. There was no train to make me late today! I did not get a good spot close to the entrance way. And the yogurt I ate for lunch in no way tasted like cake.

Am I wishing for the wrong types of things?

Is it safer to wish for things like… A great hair cut and style or eyelashes which curl naturally? I don’t wish for happiness because I am happy or at least…  Mostly, in the grand scheme of things.  Maybe I should be wishing for happiness in order to stay happy? Seems like a lot of work. Hmm, maybe that is why we should be careful what we wish for. Because, ultimately, it is a great deal of dang work for something as simple as a wish.

I would like to find one day, on some random wiki-site, the origin of this phrase. What was the wish that caused someone such dismay?  Did they wish for more land or a fair maiden or a healthy goat only to wind up in debt, married to an evil hag, and a cow?

Maybe the heart of the problem is that Wish is the wrong word. Should we be careful what we long for? Be careful what we fancy? Is the wish doomed because of feeling of guilt and regret? If there is something we want, something we truly desire, chances are that something will cause us to feel guilty. Is guilt part of the regret? Doesn’t guilt just tag along for the ride? Personally I can’t be bothered with guilt. I know that goes against my Catholic childhood upbringing, but it’s true. While I can waste my time with endless feelings of should’ve/could’ve – Guilt and I don’t have much to say to one another.  Regret and I, however, have a much closer bond.

So this brings me back to my main dilemma, if we take the time to want something and want it so badly that we take the care to wish for it, are we dooming ourselves before we get it by knowing we should be careful what we wish for?  Probably Yes

Do wishes even come true? Is it your circumstance, rather than wish, reaching fruition or is it a case of being at the right place at the right time?  Sometimes I have to wonder if we only have to be careful when we don’t actually get what we want in the first place.

Does this mean we’ll stop wishing? Indubitably, we never stop wishing. Heck, I thought for an experiment I would see how long I could go without uttering a wish.  I think my average sans-wish length of time is roughly 27 minutes.

Responses

  1. Like it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

