Posted by: effingwishes | August 22, 2010

Technology Killed the Radio Star

I stare at my phone. I click the email app to see if anyone has written. I click the Facebook app to see what friends are up to. I take pictures of my surroundings to carry in my pocket. I hate myself for being so dependent on this little piece of technology.
Can I go an hour without my dam phone? Doubtful. I can barely take it out of my hands.

Remember ‘back in the day’ when you wanted to share something with friends or family, you had to pick up your phone and call to Speak or pick up a pen to Write? Now we text, email, tweet or Facebook. There is little delay from the time you decide to communicate to the moment the message is zipping to it’s destination.
I think this is part of my problem. If you are thinking about someone, you can let them know in an instant. But if you want to be thought of? What if you wonder if anyone is thinking of you? Then you stare at your phone. Thinking. Hating yourself just a tad for wanting to be wanted.

Last night I anticipated having a great fun time with my friends at Ravinia. The concert was great. We had lots of food and drink but I felt disconnected. I spent more time than I anticipated texting and even worked on the Dreams blog.

This morning I went over to the Arboretum to get some air and sun and ponder life. I asked the universe for more guidance on what to do with my marriage. I know in my soul I’m not happy and I don’t see a happy ending in sight. As I worked on my soul searching, I did what comes naturally – I clicked on the horoscope app. Here was the Sagittarius message for today:

Follow your instincts, Sagittarius. Even if you have a tendency to listen more to your reason, put that aside. While your ears can hear words, your intuition can hear what’s between the lines and provide you with a much bigger picture. If something sounds right but feels wrong, you’ll be better off trusting your feelings. Act with careful consideration and caution.

Hmmm… So now what? Can I put my phone down long enough to truly work through life’s next steps?

Leave a Reply

Categories

