Posted by: effingwishes | July 4, 2012

Heat

It’s almost 100 degrees. The heat radiates in the air and pulses through you.
I love it.
Granted I’m also sitting in the shade with 2 bottles of water and great music. I could sit here all day.

I tend to vacation by myself. I pack up the car, bring what I need and head out to a favorite small town and spend a few days seeking serenity. This year I decided to do something different and have come to Nashville with one of my favorite gal pals.

Best decision ever!

My hopes for the trip were to have some tasty southern cooking, line dance, listen to great music and maybe, if I was lucky, get hit on by a cowboy. My friend said it was easy to just kiss random fellows. Maybe for other girls, but I was not that girl (being my own worst enemy is what it is).

First night in Nashville and we met this brazen and crass fellow. I was in no mood to argue politics on vacation in a bar so I sang Yankee Doodle Dandy while my girl friend egged him on. It was a hoot.
Afterwards we ducked into another bar to hear another couple of songs. Debating on back to the hotel or 1 more place, we figured we would give 1 more bar a shot. The band at the Stage was fantastic! We could sing along and dance a bit. Then I saw him.

Sitting at table with a friend, there he was. My cowboy. Black shirt, black cowboy hat, drinking a bottle of beer. I wanted to buy him a beer but couldn’t read the label. Since I had my fearless wing-woman with me, she went right up to their table.
He came up to me with the sweetest southern accent and told me that a gentleman doesn’t let a lady buy his drinks but would buy me mine. While machismo makes my skin crawl, his southern charm sucked me right in.
We had a bit of typical chit-chat before I just HAD to kiss him.

I’m not one of those girls who does that. I could have kissed that man for days. He curled my toes. If the devil in my left ear had his way, maybe the night would have ended differently (I did pack pretty panties after all). But I left him there and my girl friend and I went back to the hotel.

When I think of his smile, his southern voice, the way he kissed me… Insert sigh of serenity of here… Perhaps fate will bring him my way again.
For now, I’ll just think of this Nashville heat and smile.

Leave a Reply

Categories

