Posted by: effingwishes | September 8, 2012

Driving Around

I was in the car when I heard the musician on the radio sing, “I can usually drink you right off my mind.” It occurred to me that I usually need to drive you right off my mind. (Although we know that I typically also try to drink you off my mind but for today, let’s stay focused on the Drive.)

Luckily for me, I purchased a car who loves the Interstate. I wouldn’t be surprised if Peppermint loved the stretch of highway through Indiana and Michigan more than she loved me. I can’t be too offended however since I usually wait until the last possible moment to put gas in her. I’d call us even.

Just as I was reaffirming the need to let you go (for about the 35th time in my lifetime or probably this year), your song came up in my mix rotation. Then a bird flew right into the side of my car. I killed an animal that spent its life free and soaring through the skies as I told myself to let you go. Coincidence??
Probably not but what if…

http://www.reverbnation.com/open_graph/song/13773914

The link I pasted will bring you to Phil Vaught’s song “Drive.” Every time I listen to it, I am amazed at how it’s completely me.  Check him out on Facebook or ReverbNation. He is awesome!

9/30 Update: Saw this photo and thought it was totally fitting for this post.

Responses

  1. If Peppermint ever gets an urge for a 30+ hour road trip, I would be happy to see her… and you, too. 🙂

  2. I tried to drink someone off of my mind once. The next morning she was all over my living room carpet…


Leave a Reply

Categories

